Doctoral Student

Michelle Buller, M.A.

Equal opportunities and diversity representative

Publications

Das alltägliche Arrangement von Homeoffice, Kinderbetreuung und Paarbeziehung. Eine qualitative Analyse von Paarinterviews während der COVID-19-Pandemie.

Buller, M. (2022)

DOI: 10.25819/ubsi/10137

Qualification Project

Gendered consequences for legal guardians as addressees of socio-pedagogical family assistance

Family and the associated gender-specific attributions are normative constructs that are constantly changing. In addition to the pluralization of family constellations, the demands on legal guardians and the need for educational assistance are also multiplying. In the discourse on outpatient educational assistance, a ‘gendering’ of socio-pedagogical diagnoses and aid planning with regard to the children and adolescents addressed is becoming apparent. The investigation of legal guardians as addressees of educational assistance from a gender-sociological perspective, on the other hand, has received little empirical attention so far. In this doctoral project, a qualitative design will be used to investigate whether, and if so, how gender constructions are produced in the context of socio-pedagogical family assistance and become effective in the form of (side) consequences for the identity and living conditions of the addressed legal guardians.

Professional Experience

Since 10/2021
Research associate at the DFG research training group „Consequences of social services work”

12/2016 – 09/2021
Student research associate at the Department of Anthropology, Cultural and Social Philosophy and at the office of the vice-rector for Studies, Teaching and Teacher Education by Prof. Dr. Michael Bongardt at the University of Siegen

07/2017 – 09/2019
Student research associate at the DFG research project “Mobile Transitions – Mobile Lifestyles? Career choice and lifestyles in the transition to transnational scientific careers in the European Union” at the Department of Social Sciences by Prof. Dr. Karin Schittenhelm at the University of Siegen

College Education

04/2017 – 09/2021
M.A. Social Sciences at the University of Siegen

10/2013 – 03/2017
B.A. Social Sciences and Literature, Culture and Media at the University of Siegen  

Memberships

Netzwerk Qualitative Familienforschung, Fernuniversität Hagen

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Soziologie (DGS), Sektion Familiensoziologie

Master thesis awards

Award “Wolfgang Popp” for gender studies 2021, University of Siegen

Study award “Tim Spier” for social sciences 2021, University of Siegen

Doktorand*in

Michelle Buller, M.A.

Gleichstellungs- und Diversitätsbeauftragte

Hölderlin-Campus
H-B 6408

Qualifizierungsprojekt

Geschlechtsdifferenzierende Folgen für Erziehungsberechtigte als Adressat*innen der Sozialpädagogischen Familienhilfe (SPFH)

Familie und damit verbundene geschlechtsdifferenzierende Zuschreibungen sind normative Konstrukte, die sich stetig wandeln. Neben der Pluralisierung familiärer Lebensformen vervielfältigen sich auch die Anforderungen an Erziehungsberechtigte und der Erziehungshilfebedarf. Im Diskurs um ambulante Hilfen zur Erziehung zeigt sich dabei mit Blick auf die adressierten Kinder und Jugendlichen eine „Vergeschlechtlichung“ von sozialpädagogischen Diagnosen und Hilfeplanungen. Die Untersuchung von Erziehungsberechtigten als Adressat*innen von Erziehungshilfen aus einer geschlechtersoziologischen Perspektive steht hingegen bislang wenig im Fokus. Im Promotionsprojekt wird anhand der Sozialpädagogischen Familienhilfe (SPFH) ­mittels eines qualitativen Designs fokussiert untersucht, ob und wenn ja, wie Geschlechterkonstruktionen im Kontext der Hilfe hergestellt und in Form von (Neben-)Folgen für die Identität und Lebenswelt der adressierten Erziehungsberechtigten wirkmächtig werden.

Berufliche Tätigkeit

Seit 10/2021
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im DFG-Graduiertenkolleg „Folgen sozialer Hilfen“

12/2016 – 09/2021
Studentische/Wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft am Lehrstuhl für Anthropologie, Kultur- und Sozialphilosophie und im Prorektorat für Studium, Lehre und Lehrerbildung bei Prof. Dr. Michael Bongardt an der Universität Siegen

07/2017 – 09/2019
Wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft im DFG-Forschungs­projekt „Mobile Übergänge – mobile Lebensformen? Berufsfindung und Lebensführung beim Übergang in transnationale Wissenschaftslaufbahnen in der Europäischen Union“ am Seminar für Sozialwissenschaften bei Prof.in Dr.in Karin Schittenhelm an der Universität Siegen

Akademische Ausbildung

04/2017 – 09/2021
Masterstudium Sozialwissenschaften an der Universität Siegen

10/2013 – 03/2017
Bachelorstudium Sozialwissenschaften und Literatur, Kultur, Medien an der Universität Siegen